Heather Pitts's Blog


NYC Wrap Up
March 13, 2010, 4:51 pm
Filed under: photos, travel

Friday morning we got up and headed into the city. Kyle had to be at work at 10. He does some freelance work for Hatch Creative Studio.  This morning they were preparing for a wedding the next day.  Beautiful flowers were everywhere and the loft space had a great view since it was on the 17th floor.  I left him at work and headed down to Chinatown to one of my favorite stores – Pearl River.  And what would NYC be without a celebrity sighting…I saw one of the Real Housewives of NYC, Kelly Bensimon walking into Starbucks.

I met back up with Kyle at the Hatch loft when he was finished.  We headed to Home Depot to pick up some stuff he needed for an event and stopped for a quick bite of lunch at Eeisenberg’s Sandwich Shop.  I love this old NYC diners that have been opened for nearly 100 years.

It was Kyle’s roommate, Cliffton’s birthday and we had planned on doing whatever he wanted that evening.  Luckily, he wanted to go to MOMA for their Free Friday Nights.  I was so excited because I had not been to the new MOMA.  It was packed!  With tickets at normally $20 or so, the free night was quite popular.  The MOMA is one of my favorite museums.  It always has a lot of great art.  When we got there, I told Kyle that I hoped to see a Gustav Klimt piece of art.  He is one of my favorites and I had never seen one of his paintings in person.  As we wandered through the galleries, I turned the corner and there it was! I was so excited!  See me beaming next to it in the photo below…

A ton of great art, some I had seen before but was happy to see again.  One of the main exhibitions was Marina Abramovic:  The Artist is Present.  This artist was spending everyday from March 14–May 31, 2010 (while the museum was open) sitting and staring at which ever museum visitor was sitting across from her.  Pretty crazy.  Also, the Tim Burton exhibit was amazing!

After the MOMA we jumped on the subway to head back to Brooklyn for dinner at Mymoon – Beautiful restaurant and YUM. YUM. YUM.

The next morning I overslept a little and woke up in a hurry to get to the airport.  Goodbye Big Apple.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

