Heather Pitts's Blog


Bird Update.
June 16, 2010, 2:09 pm
Filed under: birds, photos

Well, I have some sad news.  There is only one bird left alive, and it is a Cowbird.  Cowbird mamas lay their eggs in other bird’s nests.  Our poor Carolina Wren mama bird is raising an impostor!

I spoke to a lady last weekend who warned me about the Cowbirds.  If I would have known earlier I could have removed the Cowbird from the nest and saved the 3 baby Carolina Wrens.  I guess I will know for the future now.

I know the baby Cowbird is innocent, but I just feel bad for the mama Wren.  She is working overtime to feed this huge Cowbird that can’t fly yet!  And it isn’t the cutest baby bird I have ever seen either.  Not the happy ending I was hoping for 😦

If you are interested you can read more about Cowbirds HERE.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

