Heather Pitts's Blog


Tybee Island
June 28, 2010, 7:00 pm
Filed under: travel

Weekend before last, Michael and I went to Tybee Island for a surprise 30th birthday party for our friend Brooke.  Her husband, Zach planned the whole thing and Christine and Clay came along too.  It was a short trip, but we had a blast.

It was my first trip to Tybee, and I don’t know if I would go back….it was a little dirty.  I don’t mean to be Debbie Downer, but I thought I should mention it.  Cigarette butts all over the beach.  But, you get what you pay for, right?  It was a great cheap vacation.  We had a great 2 bedroom condo with ocean views and we were right next to a bunch of restaurants, bars, shops and the pier.

Friday night we all went for a stroll down to the pier and then had dinner at a great restaurant with views of the ocean – Fannie’s at the Beach. There was a live band that was hilarious and a little scary all at the same time.  I laughed so hard it hurt.  Good times.  Saturday, we set up a big tent at the beach and enjoyed the ocean.  That night we drove into Savannah (only about 20 minutes away) and checked out river street and had dinner at Vic’s on the River.  It was a great meal!  I totally recommend this restaurant.  I had fried green tomatoes with goat cheese for an appetizer and meatloaf for dinner.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

