Heather Pitts's Blog


Fireworks & Friends at Lake Lure
July 9, 2010, 9:46 am
Filed under: photos, travel

Happy July 4th Everyone!  (a few days late)

Michael and I took some friends to his parents lake house for the weekend.  His parents are on an Alaskan cruise!

Friday night we all started the weekend out with margaritas and Mexican food at El Sureno.  We played a little Apples to Apples when we got back to the house.  I love that game.

Saturday we took the boat out for tubing and then stopped by Bayfront for some lunch.  We went back to the house to lounge in the sun and enjoy jumping off the top of the boathouse.  I have done this twice.  It is scary.  It is about 2 stories up from the water and when you jump, you think you should hit the water before you actually do.  I have been too chicken to do this lately.  I always say, I’m going to jump! …but then I get to the edge and chicken out.

Saturday night I cooked dinner for everyone (all 9 of us) – Baked Ziti, Salad and Garlic Bread.  Yummy!  We played some blackjack and poker.  I am trying to learn all of the Vegas rules before we go out there in less than 2 months for our wedding.  My past 3 trips to Vegas I have only played the slots, but this time I want to play some blackjack tables!

Sunday we enjoyed the lake and sun some more.  We got cleaned up early and jumped on the boat to head to dinner.  We parked by the Lake Lure beach so that after dinner we would have a perfect spot for fireworks.  We had dinner at LaStrada and then went back to the boat to just hang out and wait for the fireworks show.  The fireworks started about 9:30 and they were awesome!    Everyone was pretty pooped after we came back from the fireworks, so we all went to bed pretty early.  It was a great 4th of July!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

