Heather Pitts's Blog


Tower of London – London Day 4
February 2, 2011, 11:21 am
Filed under: travel

On my final day in London, I was a bit lazy in the morning.  The jet lag was catching up to me and I wanted to get all packed early since I had to leave the next day at 5:00am to catch my train to Paris.  I finally left the apartment around noon to get some lunch with Debbie.  We ended up at Carafinni – an amazing Italian restaurant just around the corner.  I had the most amazing spinach ravioli in a butter sage sauce.  Delicious.

I jumped in a taxi to head over to the Tower of London after lunch.  Debbie had suggested this as the must do attraction in London.  Boy was she right.  The Tower of London was absolutely amazing.  A must if you ever visit London.

(click image to enlarge)

The free Beefeaters tour was very informative and our guy was hilarious.  I loved his outfit.  He joked with me and told me I could take a picture of him as long as it didn’t end up in a scrapbook.  Does a blog count?

We went inside the Chapel of St. Peter ad Vincula that dates from 1520.  I was so shocked to find out that I was sitting in the room that Anne Boleyn and Catherine Howard (2 of Henry VIII’s wives) were buried in.  They were both beheaded (along with many others) at the Tower of London.

After the Beefeaters tour ended, we were free to wander the “fortress”.  One of my favorite areas was The Crown Jewels.  All of the crown jewels are kept safe at the Tower of London and displayed for all to see. No photos allowed in here of course.  My favorite had to be the Sovereign’s Sceptre which has the world’s largest diamond in it – The Star of Africa.  It truly was amazing to be just inches away from these amazing pieces.  Here is a guard right outside of where the jewels are…

Some great views from around the outside walls…

So much history here…another chapel here which is inside of the White Tower, St. John’s Chapel – dating from 1078. Plus a few more photos…

I was blown away by my visit to the Tower of London.  A great way to end my London trip.  I headed back to the apartment to finish packing and then Debbie and I went out for a quick bite for dinner.  We found a little Indian restaurant right around the corner.  Goodbye London, Hello Paris!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

