Heather Pitts's Blog


Les Puces
February 7, 2011, 7:04 am
Filed under: travel

Saturday morning, Stephan who helps run our Through The Looking Glass business in France met Michael and I at our hotel to take us for a tour of Les Puces – the most famous flea market in Paris and the largest antique market in the world.  We send our TTLG clients here for a day to roam the huge markets while our appraisers help them pick the real items over the fakes – and there are a lot of fakes.  You could spend days roaming the miles and miles of markets.

The term “flea market” comes from this place!  Flea market comes from the French “marche aux puces”, a name originally given to this market in Paris which specialized in shabby second-hand goods of the kind that might contain fleas.

My camera was not happy with me and the focus was not working properly that morning.  Michael and Stephan were joking with me after I had declared that I had already taken close to 1000 photos in the past week.  They said that my camera wanted to rest.  I was not amused.  Below are a couple of okay shots that I got of Les Puces – before we had to go back to the hotel to pick up my spare camera 🙂


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

